Universal Music Group Africa Dominate SAMA24 Nominees with 37 Nominations

- April 24, 2018 - No comments -

The SAMA24 nominations were unveiled in Ekurhuleni, South Africa recently, at an event attended by industry heavyweights and the stars that make the South African music industry sparkle. Universal Music South Africa artists received a huge 37 nominations across a broad array of categories. A full list of UMG nominations can be found below.

Universal Music Group Africa Dominate SAMA24 Nominees with 37 Nominations
Universal Music Group Africa Dominate SAMA24 Nominees with 37 Nominations

The South African Music Awards is a premier music showcase hosted by RiSA. This annual event honours the country’s finest music talent over two days in key categories, as they battle for the South African industry’s highest honour – a statuette at the South African Music Awards.

Nominees also take the stage by storm with a series of epic, never-to-be-repeated performances, as the nation watches SA’s finest talent at work.

RiSA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi congratulated the nominees: ‘This has been a particularly formidable year. And the competition was exceedingly tight. We applaud those who have made the cut and wish them the best going to Sun City. The SAMA remains the most prestigious accolade our musicians aspire to possess and we are committed to a fair and credible process of selecting worthy winners.’

Record of the Year
AKA & Anatii – Don’t Forget To Pray

DJ Zinhle ft Tamara Dey – Colours

Heavy K – Inde

Lady Zamar  – My Baby
Mafikizolo – Love Potion
Prince Kaybee – Charlotte
Lady Zamar – Love is Blind

Special mention to Universal Music Artist Dominic Neill featured on DJ Kent’s single Nominated for Record of the Year

** DJ Kent & Dominic Neill – Love You Still

Best Pop
Craig Lucas – Restless
TRESOR – The Beautiful Madness
Monark – Monark

Beste Pop
Karlien van Jaarsveld – Sing Vir Liefde
Lianie May – Iemand Om Lief Te He

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Wouter Kellerman & Soweto Gospel Choir – Symphonic Soweto

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album
Jo Black – Skepe

Best African Adult Contemporary Album
Siseko Pame – Ilanga
Tribute Birdie Mboweni – Tribute Birdie Mboweni The Deluxe Edition Album

Best Alternative Music Album
Bongeziwe Mabandla – Mangaliso

Best Kwaito Album
Mashabela Galane – Bona That Rural Dream
Chomee – Do Mo Squats
Busiswa – Highly Flavoured

Best Dance Album
DJ Merlon –  Pure Black Album
DJ Ganyani – Ganyani’s House Grooves 10
Lady Zamar – King Zamar
Prince Kaybee – I Am Music

Best Traditional Faith Music Album
Sipho Makhabane – Sinekhaya

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Nqubeko Mbatha – Heaven’s Ways

Best Maskandi Album
Mbuzeni – Wavuma

Best Jazz Album
Nduduzo Makhathini – Ikhambi

Best Afro Pop Album
Mafikizolo – 20
Robbie Malinga – Robbie Malinga

Best Live Audio Visual Recording / DVD
Donald – Red Mic Experience

Best Collaboration
Heavy K ft Busi & Nokwazi – Inde

Music Video of the Year
Nasty C – Don’t Do It

Best Produced Album
Mafikizolo – 20
Prince Kaybee – I Am Music

Best Engineered Album
Mafikizolo – 20
Nduduzo Makhathini – Ikhambi

Read previous post:
Blaklez – Jungle Justice ft. YoungstaCPT Lyrics

Lyrics for Jungle Justice ft. YoungstaCPT [VERSE 1 Blaklez] Ah Yes ! Am a man i say Yea Now am...