Die Antwoord Lyrics

Die Antwoord (Afrikaans for “The Answer”) is a South African hip hop group formed in Cape Town in 2008. It comprises rappers Ninja and Yolandi Visser and producer God (formerly DJ Hi-Tek). Their image revolves around the South African counterculture movement known as zef and has incorporated work by other artists associated with the movement, such as photographer Roger Ballen.

Die Antwoord released their debut album, $O$ (2009), free online and attracted international attention for their music video for “Enter the Ninja”. After briefly signing with Interscope Records, in 2011 they founded their own label Zef Recordz, and released their second and third studio albums, Ten$Ion (2012) and Donker Mag (2014). They released their fourth album, Mount Ninji and da Nice Time Kid, in 2016. In September 2017, the group will release their fifth and final album, The Book of Zef.

2008–2010: Formation and release of debut album $O$

Die Antwoord formed in 2008.Their name is Afrikaans for “The Answer”Their debut album $O$ was made available as a free download on their official website. $O$ features Cape Flats rappers Garlic Brown (aka Knoffel Bruin), Scallywag, Isaac Mutant, Jack Parow, and Jaak Paarl (aka Jaak). The album cover was shot by photographer Clayton James Cubitt.In 2009 South African cinematographer Rob Malpage (along with co-director Ninja) shot the video for their single “Enter the Ninja”.The video features Cape Town artist and turntablist Leon Botha. The video received millions of views online nine months later, forcing them to move their website to a US-based hosting provider to handle the traffic.The single “Evil Boy” produced by American artist Diplo (also noted for producing M.I.A.’s smash hit “Paper Planes”), contained a verse by guest vocalist Wanga (a Xhosa rapper) in his native language, which rejects the traditional Xhosa passage to manhood achieved in part by circumcision, electing to remain uncircumcised; thus an “evil boy for life”. The video has garnered over 26 million views as of March 2017.[18]

Following the success of the video, Die Antwoord signed a record deal with Interscope Records. In April 2010, they performed their first international concert at the Coachella Music Festival, in front of 40,000 people. They then toured internationally in support of $O$.[10][19] Shortly after, they joined the 2011 Big Day Out circuit which took them to New Zealand and Australia, sharing back-to-back sold-out sideshows with M.I.A.[20][21] At the end of 2010, Die Antwoord won the Myspace Best Music Video of 2010 award for their debut video, “Enter the Ninja”.

2011–2013: Ten$ion, record label dispute

In November 2011, Die Antwoord left Interscope Records over a dispute concerning their upcoming album and its lead single, “Fok Julle Naaiers”.Visser explained that Interscope “kept pushing us to be more generic” in order to make more money: “If you try to make songs that other people like, your band will always be shit. You always gotta do what you like. If it connects, it’s a miracle, but it happened with Die Antwoord.”Die Antwoord formed their own independent label, Zef Recordz, and released their new album Ten$Ion through it.The release was in association with the Good Smile Company (a Japanese company that is also making Die Antwoord toys) and Downtown Records, which is handling the marketing and distribution for the record worldwide. Ten$Ion included three more singles following “Fok Julle Naaiers”: “I Fink U Freeky”, “Baby’s on Fire”, and “Fatty Boom Boom”. The singles included on Ten$Ion began to bring Die Antwoord more into the global spotlight as they were invited to perform on American talk shows and featured in an Alexander Wang advertisement. However the album was met with average to poor reviews by many critics. Ten$Ion was followed up with a non-album single, “XP€N$IV $H1T”.

2014: Donker Mag and further touring

Following the release of “XP€N$IV $H1T”, Die Antwoord set out on a brief tour across Europe from June to July. Soon after they began touring, snippets for a new single called “Cookie Thumper!”, which was to be accompanied by a music video, were released. Around the release of their new single, Die Antwoord also announced the title of their third album, Donker Mag, which was released on 3 June 2014. The video For “Cookie Thumper!” was released on 18 June 2014 on Noisey’s YouTube channel. The video has over 28 million views as of January 2017. On 20 May 2014, “Pitbull Terrier”, the second music video from Donker Mag, was released on Die Antwoord’s YouTube channel. The video has over 26 million views as of January 2017.

2015–2016: EP release and Mount Ninji and da Nice Time Kid

In February 2015, Die Antwoord announced that they had started work on new material with DJ Muggs of Cypress Hill.[29] On 19 May 2016 the duo released a mixtape entitled Suck on This on SoundCloud.[30][31] The mixtape features productions from DJ Muggs, God (indicated to be DJ Hi-Tek), and The Black Goat. The track list includes the previously released “Dazed and Confused” and “Bum Bum” as well as “Gucci Coochie,” a collaboration with Dita Von Teese. A teaser for the song’s video was released on 18 May 2016. The mixtape also includes remixes for some of the group’s previous songs including “I Fink You Freeky,” “Fok Julle Naaiers,” and “Pitbull Terrier.” On July 22, 2016, it was announced that the album would be titled Mount Ninji and da Nice Time Kid. The album was released on September 16, 2016. The first video from the album, “Banana Brain”, was released on August 31, 2016. It has accumulated over 21 million views as of January 2017. The second video from the album, “Fat Faded Fuck Face,” was released on Vimeo rather than on YouTube, due to its adult content, on December 16, 2016. The video has over 900,000 views as of January 2017.

2017–present: The Book of Zef and purported future disbandment

In early 2017, Die Antwoord announced via social media networks that they are to release their final album, entitled The Book of Zef, in September 2017 and disband immediately after. The first single, “Love Drug”, was released on May 5.

Die Antwoord Albums

Die Antwoord Lyrics - by Popularity

Read previous post:
Davido - Pere Lyrics
Davido – Pere Lyrics ft. Rae Sremmurd & Young Thug

Lyrics For Pere By Davido ft. Rae Sremmurd & Young Thug [Chorus: Davido] If I give you one pere (pere)...